CTU Election 5/21

We’re down to the final two days before the Chicago teachers get to choose between business as usual union politics where we throw money at politicians and hope they save us and movement style union politics where we save ourselves.   If you have been following my sporadic postings since October you know that I took Howard Zinn’s advice and joined up with a social movement.   As a teacher, the thing that was most important to me was education and naturally that’s where I went.  I can’t tell you how CORE has impressed me in this time.   While the other caucuses seem exactly one person deep–maybe two—CORE has 20 or 30.

I talk about CORE a bit differently than most.   You see, since I didn’t join until October I was able to pick a caucus that felt like they would take the union where it needed to go.   Since, I joined I’ve seen CORE’s partnerships with Teachers for Social Justice, Chicago Youth Initiating Change, and a host of community organizations.   We have something developing here and I’d ordinarily be quite content if we lost the election to sit back and continue to let the movement germinate, but who knows what will be left of the union or the city’s schools if another caucus wins—especially UPC.

The CORE Slate

Karen Lewis – She’s a firebrand.   She reminds me a bit of my sister.   Most of the time she’s pretty laid back and easygoing, but let her talk about education and she lights up.   She makes such an eloquent spokesperson for the teachers and students of the Chicago Public Schools.   It’s about time we had a CTU President that we can watch on Chicago Tonight without cringing.

Jesse Sharkey – He’s the perfect counterpoint to Karen.  I see him at CORE meetings with his young son and I see not only a great feather, but also a guy who really knows how to organize his time.   He’s a very effective speaker as well who was quite effective during the city council hearing on school turnarounds.

Kristine Mayle – I blogged about Kristine on the last day before going into work this year.   I was shocked to find out the next day that she would be working with me.  She reminds me of a turn of the 20th century labor leader.  She is so polished and well-spoken.  She also seems to be a font of endless stamina.  She made it to every school closing hearing 2 years ago and most of them this year.

Michael Brunson – Michael is fun.  He’s a former boxer and a second career teacher who is extremely gentle and charming, but like you might expect there’s a fighter there.   He’ll be smiling and you never see the jab coming.

I could go on and on.   This is an organization that is passionate about public education.   Check us out at http://www.coreteachers.com.   If you are a Chicago Public Schools teacher I’m not going to tell you who to vote for, but I am going to tell you educate yourself and make up your own mind.   I’m looking forward to Friday when the votes are cast, but I’m also nervous as all get out.

Explore posts in the same categories: Chicago Public Schools, CTU, Uncategorized

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “CTU Election 5/21”

  1. your sister Says:

    Which sister? This one thinks you should be incredibly proud of the work you and CORE are doing.

  2. Marta A. Says:

    I think you had a typo. Did you mean Chicago Youth Initiating Change and not “Youth Initiating Change”? Thanx.

  3. thatsrightnate Says:

    Doh, you have good eyes Marta. Thanks for spotting that.

  4. your sister Says:

    You reply to Marta, but not to me? You better watch it, you have a birthday coming up!@

  5. Mario Ponce Says:

    Really awesome writing. Truely..


  6. You made some great elements there. I believe most individuals will concur together with your site.


  7. Thanks for the suggestions you’re discussing on this website. A new thing I fancy to articulate is that getting hold of approximately copies of your credit score rating in categorize to examine accuracy of each delegate will ensue the initial actions you have to undertake in belief slash development. You’re looking to spotless awake your credit score testimony from harmful niceties errors that damage your credit score score.


  8. I would say it could be my extremely 1st time viewing your web site. I can undoubtedly create that it consists of an excellent number of useful factors. Superb website. I just finished mine and i was looking for some ideas and you gave me a few. Great read!


Leave a Reply

